Parve

There seems to be a lot of different thoughts on what parve is.
Parve
My Falafel entry, where I mentioned that when I saw parve on a box of kosher food I was confident that what was in the box was vegan, has gotten a few clarifying comments.
Carmen gave me the definition of kosher.
I received correct clarification of parve from sb, who left an interesting link to a page that very clearly defines parve. I have also read the same info on a page from vegsource.com – can kosher mean vegan?
Jon’s comment was correct that fish and eggs are in foods marked parve, by all accounts, but I think is incorrect including “Jello-brand gelatin (comes from slaughtered animals)” and “Mono and diglicyrides that are from animals”.
I don’t believe either one of these things would be in a product marked parve.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

2 thoughts on “Parve

  1. I don’t think I properly understand the wording of this but my take on it is:
    Jello is NOT vegan and the Kosher jellos are not either, they are from cow parts. Mono and dyglicerides (sp?) are animal source unless they say “from vegetable source”.
    My brother is strict kosher so any questions you have I can most probably get the answer to.
    but I think is incorrect including “Jello-brand gelatin (comes from slaughtered animals)” and “Mono and diglicyrides that are from animals”.

  2. I don’t believe they would allow any gelatin from animals in something that was marked parve.
    That’s what I meant.
    Ask your brother if there are vegan-kosher-gelatins, if you would.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *